When do the NHL Playoffs Start?

The NHL Playoffs will be here soon enough now that we’re clearly into the back half of the season, and the Kraken could make their second appearance in franchise history.

Feb 12, 2024; Newark, New Jersey, USA; Seattle Kraken left wing Andre Burakovsky (95) takes a shot
Feb 12, 2024; Newark, New Jersey, USA; Seattle Kraken left wing Andre Burakovsky (95) takes a shot / John Jones-USA TODAY Sports

While the Seattle Kraken are only in their third season, they still did some damage in the NHL Playoffs in 2023. Therefore, Seattle entered the 2023-24 campaign, hoping to build on what was a fun year. Although things haven’t gone their way so much, it doesn’t mean the fans of the NHL’s newest team can’t get excited about the postseason. 

There is still a chance the Kraken will earn a trip to the playoffs if they play better hockey down the stretch. Whether Seattle ultimately makes it or not, take a quick look at when the playoffs begin, and how the Kraken can still get there. 

When can Kraken fans tune into the NHL Playoffs?

Kraken fans will see the regular season end on April 18th before the playoffs commence not long after on April 20th this year.

How can the Kraken earn their second trip to the postseason?

The Kraken have struggled in Year 3, but they have played well enough to at least stay in the hunt for their second postseason berth. Seattle must, however, embark on a run similar to what we saw between December 12th and January 13th, when they went 11-0-2. 

We probably won’t enjoy that kind of output again this season, but the Kraken nonetheless will find themselves right there in contention if they even embarked on even a six-game run. Knowing they are capable of going on major winning streaks, we can’t count them out just yet. 

The Kraken’s short history in the playoffs

While the Kraken didn’t enjoy the same success as the Vegas Golden Knights in their inaugural season, they made the playoffs in Year 2 of their existence. Seattle upset the defending Stanley Cup Champions, the Colorado Avalanche, in what was a thrilling seven-game series, but they fell to the Dallas Stars in Round 2, also in seven games. 


(Historical data provided by Hockey-Reference)